Lamar Jackson named Unanimous AP NFL MVP

Second player to win award unanimously

Big Bad Morning Show
February 02, 2020 - 9:40 am
Lamar Jackson honored with the NFL MVP award

Photo Courtesy: USA Today


By Austin Medina  

It's official! Ravens quarterback Lamar Jackson has won the AP NFL MVP. 

At the 9th annual NFL Honors, Jackson headlined he ceremony by winning the MVP award unanimously. He became the second player ever to win the award unanimously, the first since Tom Brady won in 2010.

Jackson produced a breakout season in just his second season. Not only did Jackson throw for 3,127 yards and 36 touchdowns, he also ran for 1,206 yards and an additional seven TDs. Jackson became the third youngest player to win the MVP, after breaking the rushing yards record for a quarterback and leading the NFL in passing TDs. 

After winning the award, a few young kids congratulated the 23-year old. 

As mentioned above, the 23-year old Jackson made a statement this season that he is much more than a runningback. He was also honored with the FedEx Air Player of the Year.

Ahead of today's Super Bowl, fans can find comfort in Jackson becoming the first Ravens MVP in franchise history.